Side Ad 1 Side Ad 2 Side Ad 3
Marion Times Header
Linn-Mar senior nominated by Senator Grassley to the U.S. Naval Academy
by Report submitted · January 11th, 2018

Senator Chuck Grassley has nominated 44 Iowa students to be considered for appointments to the U.S. service academies. One of them is Linn-Mar senior Daniel O'Hara.

"These young Iowans who want to enter the academies and serve our country are a remarkable reflection on our state," Grassley said. "Their accomplishments, leadership and desire to serve are exceptional, and signal continued excellence in the U.S. armed forces."

Each year Grassley has the opportunity as a U.S. senator to nominate either current or future Iowa high school graduates for a select few service academy placements. The U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy and U.S. Naval Academy all select at least one qualified student from Grassley's nominations. The U.S. Merchant Marine Academy makes selections in proportion to states' representation in Congress.

Grassley said he encourages Iowa students to consider applying to more than one service academy, due to the highly competitive nature of admissions. Iowa representatives in the U.S. House of Representatives make nominations in addition to both of Iowa's U.S. senators. Students may receive more than one nomination.

Students interested in academy appointments should begin the application process in the spring of their junior year of high school. Early application is encouraged. The academies select students based on the number of vacancies available for the next school year.

"The academies offer some of the best options for higher education as well as an outstanding way to serve our country. It's a tremendous opportunity for young Iowans," Grassley said.

Traditionally, the high quality of Iowa nominees results in several Iowa students being offered admission to attend each of the service academies. The students then choose whether to attend the academy.

Grassley will make announcements as academy appointments are offered to Iowans.

The lists below include the names of Grassley's nominees for the 2018-2019 school year.

U.S. Military Academy

at West Point

Libby Ernst - Red Oak

Payton Hart - Riverside

Brianna Hartman - Des Moines

Sierra Howardson - Danville

Jaxon Jones - Forest City

Caleb Kleman - Cedar Rapids

Nicholas Krabbenhoft - Denver

Justin Manternach - Mount Vernon

Robert Phillips - Sioux City

Luke Whitman - Des Moines

U.S. Naval Academy

Nathan Betts - Dyersville

Hunter Carey - New Hampton

Chaz Clark - Pleasantville

Thomas Corbett - Cedar Rapids

Lucas Cosselman - Eldridge

Jared Johnson - Urbandale

Victoria Johnson - Marshalltown

Ian Kennedy - Stuart

Katherine McAllister - New London

Sheryl McGowan - Sioux City

Daniel O'Hara - Robins

Max Oberman - Clive

Joshua Paskach - Des Moines

Kyle Puttman - Orange City

August Taylor - Villisca

Patricia Teggatz - Hampton

Benjamin Toyne - Victor

Kitty Turner - Sioux City

Luke Whitman - Des Moines

Elizabeth Worthington - Brooklyn

U.S. Merchant Marine

Nathan Betts - Dyersville

Katharina Commins - Altoona

Jarred Gaudineer - West Des Moines

Peter Greer - Iowa City

Jaxon Jones - Forest City

Katherine McAllister - New London

U.S. Air Force Academy

Cory Critchlow - Granger

Savannah David - Granger

Eleanor Drexler - Bettendorf

Jack Giannettino - Burlington

Camden Glenn - Pleasant Valley

Christine Hess - Shelby

Joseph Kenkel - Panama

Grace Proesch - Lowden

Harlan Steffensmeier - Farmington

Levi Tuecke - Garnavillo
Contact the Marion Times
808 6th St. Suite 1
Marion, Iowa 52302
P: (319) 377-7037
F: (319) 377-9535 | Marion Times | The Only Newspaper Serving Marion First
News | Sports | Opinions | Obituaries | Robins | Hiawatha | Archives | Business Directory | City News
Like the Marion Times on Facebook
Web Development by Brian McMillin, LLC
News Sports Opinions Obituaries Archives Business Directory City News Marion Times